VectorBase Scientific Working Group

VectorBase is pleased to announce the members of the Scientific Working Group (SWG). The SWG provides advice about the management, performance, and the needs of the scientific community using VectorBase.

Name Affiliation
Lyric Bartholomay Associate Professor, Department of Pathobiological Sciences, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Wisconsin (Madison, WI)
George Dimopoulos Professor and Director Parasitology Core Facility, Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public
Health (Baltimore, MD)
Martin Donnelly Professor Evolutionary Genetics, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (Liverpool, UK)
Matthew Hahn Professor of Biology and Informatics, Indiana University (Bloomington, IN)
Marcelo Jacobs-Lorena Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (Baltimore, MD)
Pedro Lagerblad de Oliveira Universidad Federal de Rio de Janeiro, Instituto de Bioquimica Medica (Rio de Janeiro, Brasil)
Daniel Masiga Senior Scientist & Head, Molecular Biology and Bioinformatics Unit, ICIPE (Nairobi, Kenya)
Nicola Mulder Associate Professor, Computational Biology Group, Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine, University of Cape Town Faculty of Health
Sciences (South Africa)
Daniel Neafsey Leader, Malaria Genome Sequencing and Analysis Group, The Broad Institute at Harvard and MIT (Cambridge, MA)
Kenneth Olson Professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology, College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Colorado State University (Fort Collins, CO)
Jeffrey Powell Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Yale University (New Haven, CT)
Jake Tu Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Virginia Tech University (Blacksburg, VA)
Guiyun Yan Professor Public Health, School of Biological Sciences, University of California (Irvine, CA)

We would like to thank the insight and collaboration from the previous members of the SWG, each participated at different times in the 1st 10 years of VectorBase (June 2004 to September 2014). Some of these members were also the reviewers of VectorBase Driving Biological Projects (DBP):

Name Affiliation
Anthony (Tony) James, Chair Distinguished Professor, U.C. Irvine, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics (US)
Bill Black Professor, Colorado State University, Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology (US)
Steve Higgs Virginia and Perry Peine Biosecurity Chair, Kansas State University, Department of Diagnostic Medicine & Pathobiology (US)
Catherine Hill Associate Professor, Purdue University, Department of Entomology (US)
Marcelo Jacobs-Lorena Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology (US)
Greg Lanzaro Professor, U.C. Davis, Department of Entomology (US)
Ulli Munderloh Associate Professor, Univ of Minnesota, Department of Entomology (US)
Barry Pittendrigh Kearns, Metcalf and Flint Endowed Professor, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Department of Entology (US)
Jeff Powell Professor, Yale University, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology (US)
Hillary Ranson Reader, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (UK)
Alexander Raikhel Distinguished Professor, U.C. Riverside, Department of Entomology (US)
Jake Tu Professor, Virginia Tech University, Department of Biochemistry (US)
Kenneth Vernick Institut Pasteur, Unit of Insect Vector Genetics and Genomics, Department of Parasitology and Mycology (FR)
Scott Weaver Professor and Vice Chair for Research, UTMB, Department of Pathology (US)